Taman Sri Nibong RA Log

July 8, 2009

Hi from Wong Mun Hoe

Filed under: Messages — mollyosc @ 11:36 am

Hi there,

What’s this?  Wong Mun Hoe blogging?  No, I haven’t started my own blogsite yet, if this is what you mean.  I have a certain fixation for things.  Yes, I have promised myself that I will start my own blogsite but it will be in 2010.  Why 2010, you may ask.

Well, recently I have been busy, in fact, very busy of late.  Somehow, after 27 years of community service including politics, finally, for the first time, I have decided to really do something for myself.  Yes, I am studying for my MBA.  It is an intensive course over 18 months in which I started in June last year. This MBA programme is the top-ranking MBA programme in the whole of Australia. Now already into my 4th term (time really flies), I hope to complete it by end of January 2010 (that’s the date for my final exam paper).  So far, I have completed 3 terms, 6 subjects and guess what, so far so good.  I even managed two Ds, em, em! It’s not easy you know, a guy coming into his 50s trying to be better than the younger ones in their 20s and 30s.  Well, if you are those like me, coming into the 50s or even more, cheer for me won’t you.  So far I haven’t let you down and I will not.  Let’s wait for early 2010 and I promise to tell you whether I have made it or not.

However, in the last 16 months since the last General Elections, let me tell you that I have not forgotten about you all.  All my life, or should I say, a large part of my life has been dedicated to serving the community. My Service Centre is still open, albeit, once a week.  The number of cases, naturally has drastically come down.  After all, without an official position, it is relatively safe to say that not so many people will come and see you.  Still, there are those who came, and I can tell you that I think they have not been disappointed.  I hate to disappoint people. After all, with 27 years of experience, I can still give some, at the very least, relatively good advice.

This brings me back to Taman Sri Nibong.  Thank you TSNRA, Uncle Hwang and Auntie Molly for remembering me and inviting me to pen a few thots in your blog. This is a prelude to my own blog (watch out for it after January 2010).  Not everyone is like you all.  After the Elections, there are some acquaintances who looked at me as if I was made of glass – you know, literally look through me as if there is no one there!  Sad story but true.  Fortunately, these are just a few.  The majority I know, always have a ready smile and have a light conversation with me.  After all, I am still living in the kawasan, I am still serving the rakyat and more importantly, I am one of you.  You will see me in the market, in the shopping complexes, in the recreational park and at the local coffee shops having my regular breakfast, lunch or supper.

I have always had a soft spot for Taman Sri Nibong folks.  I really think that you people are really lovely people and I have had 4 good years of working with you. I mean it. I definitely look forward to seeing you more often whether in your vicinity or elsewhere.  Other than reminding me that you are from TSN, just remember to smile and make “small talk”.  That will make my day.  So once again, thank you TSNRA and TSN folks.  Wishing you all good health, happiness and success even in the face of the global economic slowdown and the H1N1.  God Bless!

TrackBack URI

Blog at WordPress.com.